Love Locks of Lithuania

Captured below are love locks I spotted  when  I visited Vilnius, the capital of Lithuania.  I was seeing this for the very first time & was fascinated. The story goes that  couples have their names or initials  engraved on these locks &  throw the keys away. I’m given to understand this is very popular in Europe & America . Love  locks symbolise a couples eternal love – I saw several of these & must confess I found this to be a really cute custom.

Here’s wishing all these couples a lifetime of happy togetherness!  May they never have to go fishing for the keys!

This stream holds the keys to many a heart

14 thoughts on “Love Locks of Lithuania

  1. Wow.. I mean the thoughts of that would be great, and the idea of love is positive here, but I am just asking, what if they hae broken up or separated? hehe Don’t mind that, weird thinkin’.. 😀

    • Yeah factored that in when I wrote that I hope they don’t have to go fishing for the keys 🙂 If the situation as you have described were to become reality, I’d just call that a deadlock !!!!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Love (Street Parade) « What's (in) the picture?

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Love (Maria Procession) « What's (in) the picture?

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Love (is Art on Malta) « What's (in) the picture?

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Love and Roses | My.Vivid.Visions

Leave a Reply

