The birthright of every Indian

It happens only in India.

It is one of the most sacred questions of our land.

It is a question where anyone not even remotely close to you can come up boldly & ask.

It is a sort of consitutional right. It can be asked of anybody.

The right to information. The right to ask. Even if it’s none of our business.

THE sacred question“Any good news?”

*  *  *  *  *

If you are going steady, I  want to know if you will get married.

If you say yes, I want to know when.

If you get married, I want to know if there is any good news of a child.

If you have the first child, I am deeply curious to know about when to expect good news of the second, &  third…

*  *  *  *  *

I may not know you too well, but I still want to know. I need to know.

I appear in many forms.

I am your neighbour.

I am your second cousin’s aunt from her father’s side.

I am your co-worker.

I am your elder sister’s mother-in-law.

I am your maid.

I am your distant relatives step-aunt you never knew existed.

I am your driver’s wife.

I am the father-in law of your co-sister.

I am your best-friend’s colleague.

I am you.

*  *  *  *  *

You meet me everywhere.

You have to tell me.

I have the right to know.

Though I don’t know you. That hardly matters.

*  *  *  *  *

Either ways, this is how we love to keep updated about good news in everyone’s life in India.

Which is neither our concern or chief joy.

Just some gosssip to make our boring days more entertaining.

*  *  *  *  *

If you think it happens elsewhere with the same measure of scrutiny, let me know. I am open to being corrected.

*  *  *  *  *

Hey, you been married awhile, any good news? 🙂

5 thoughts on “The birthright of every Indian

Leave a Reply

